top of page

Recommended Bike Shops

Hi Everyone

I am strong into my second week of off season and my brain has been exploding with ideas. I love this sport so much and year after year it seems my interest and love for it keeps on growing!

One of the best ways I can give back to this sport is by promoting it in any way possible. Put it this way- anything good that you have to say about this sport makes you a good ambassador. (And I hate even mentioning this, but the sport is much better off without those that complain about it day in and day out, mostly about why they have not succeeded in it.)

I have been extremely fortunate over the years to be quite vocal about topics and one thing that I have learned very quickly was that, by belittling someone, someones believes or opinion definitely doesn't make you look good. And whether you are right or wrong it doesn't matter because your opinion will have been blown away in a weeks time, and be forgotten about in a month- But the bad light that you've projected will have tarnished this sport you apparently love so much, even more.

I could talk about how bad the state of affairs are in South Africa but doing that means I am part of the problem and not the solution. Talking about the good that our country, South Africa has to offer already makes me part of the solution...

Remember: HATERS WILL SEE YOU WALK ON WATER AND SAY ITS BECAUSE YOU CAN'T SWIM.

So lets put that behind us and move on to bike shops I can really recommend. I have been fortunate enough over years to have made many friends that work in bike shops. Some of them old teammates, other just good friends.

No, I don't recommend them because some are friends or not but simply by how well I've seen them treat customers and simply because I have been impressed by the services offered compared to other bike shops. And no I don’t get everything for free. I pay just like you with the exception of some good discount. (But after all it is my job, not a hobby.)

So let me recommend a few I’m pretty sure you won’t be disappointed at, in to the best of my own experience and what I’ve experienced over the years.

In my first years living in Pretoria as a student at the University of Pretoria it was really difficult to find a shop that doesn’t overcharge by a mile. For example I went to a shop to shorten my chain by one link and they charged me labour for a ridiculous amount.

But long story short if you are looking for good service and affordable prices on expensive Products, HotSpot Cycles is a good place to start in Pretoria.

Secondly if ever you are in Cape Town I would definitely make the drive to Paarl and meet up with my good friend Hanco or HB at the ASG store (Paarl branch). I personally have put a lot of trust in Hanco's advice over the years. He used to be a professional bike rider and truly knows what he is talking about. On a side note- if you're looking for a decent setup he does that too, plus they do club rides on some fun routes which is always a bonus and if you're looking for Banter you’ll get more than enough there.

Finally all the way to my home Town, Nelspruit. I will get in a bit of trouble from all of them but quite frankly I have to give my honest opinion. Straight off the back if you’ve got or are into Specialized bikes Bells Cycling would be best suited for you. Nico Bell whom is the owner has years of experience and is a professional cyclist himself. Im going to go ahead and say it but he can fix anything and by far the best mechanic in South Africa in my opinion is JP that also works there. JP himself is pretty impressive just a tad lazy, haha.

Another good friend of mine whom works at Cycle Tribe Nelspruit Anton will be sure to give you quick service. Whenever I really need something done urgently I run there and know I won’t be disappointed.

And lastly if you are looking for a wide variety of cycling accessories and bikes try out Valencia. Whenever I needed a product I could not find at other bike shops I always managed to find it there at a great price , thanks to Naeem. They also make a decent cappuccino you won’t be disappointed in.

Riding here with Anton. (Someone please ask the Ballies why they aren't riding in the slipstream. It's much easier!)

And once again, after receiving great service this morning, while scouting for mouldable insoles at Hotspot Cycles I Simply wrote this piece out of gratitude and nothing more.

All the best

@williesmurfy


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
bottom of page