top of page

Vuelta Segovia 2017

This week was the 55th edition of the 2017 Vuelta Segovia. The race is three days long with a bit of everything. What made it even more interesting was the weather. Wind up to 30mph ment positioning would be more important than having good legs. To be honest I am not going to sit here and explain exactly what happened every kilometer. So long story short.

Vuelta Segovia like I've said has a bit of everything. Rolling roads, gutters, high mountains and cobbled climbs close to the finish of stage 1 & 3. For those that don't know stage 1 of a tour is usually the most difficult. It is because there is no leader yet and no Team is really keen to always take control so early on. It usually just is very unpredictable. To summarize, the Tour can't be won on day one but can definitely be lost.

I was fortunate enough to make the selection in the gutters which really suites my style of riding and finished 2nd on the stage. Day two had two 1st categorized climb within the first 60km of the stage. The second one going up to 2000m above sea level. Not just for the Tour but for the upcoming tours this was the most important part for me. The reason being that it was the first opportunity I had to see how I went against some of the best climbers leading up to Vuelta Zamora and Lyon in the high mountains.

On one of the decents between the two categorized climb I lost contact on the slippery corners. Maybe just because I didn't have the balls and wasn't mentally prepared to take went corners at 90km/h+ on a decent I don't know. Once again long story short. It made for a long, hard unnecessary chase all day long. On the final Stage the most challenging factors would be the gutters and the three cobbled climbs leading up to the finish. My teammates controlled as much as they could and in this case the gutters played into our favor. Because it ment no one would have a free ride.

The first two cobbled climbs softened up of what was left of the peloton. On the final lap Myself and one Caja Rural rider rode clear on the pavement (as the cobbles was enough for one day). I was content with taking second on the stage ;) and winning the Tour Overall. I don't take these things for granted and feel its a blessing in disguise. A special thanks to John, Mande, My GrandParent and the Wolfpack in Nelspruit. All these experiences, people in our life are the things that sharpen us into whom we are today. I feel all the people I have been involved with have shaped me in some way or another into the person and rider I have become today. One things I've learned so far in life is that although you are not very fond of some people you meet on the road there is always something you can learn from them and grow into a better person so that one day someone else can learn something from you, whom is not very fond of you.

Thats all for now. And remember, its never too late.

Oh yes and for those reading this. Its someone I've mentioned in this Blogs Birthday Tomorrow. Don't forget.

@williesmurfy


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
bottom of page